Photo by Yannes Kiefer on Unsplash

How I Gain 2 Hours Every Morning to Invest in My Future

I hated waking up early until I’ve experienced the morning

Ryszard Śpiewak
4 min readSep 8, 2023

--

Did you ever want to change your life to resign because of the lack of time?

Some people work on their future after 9–5, but I was too tired. My brain works best in the morning. As it happens, even early in the morning. So, my only option to work on the side was in the mornings.

Today is the 23rd day of waking up at 5 a.m. I had one day off because I somehow turned off the alarm through sleep. The time I get I use for writing before working. My priorities are straight again. Some days, I wake up tired, but I never regret it.

But how did I do it?

Start With Failures

Most of the advice I tested failed me.

The one I liked the most was getting five minutes earlier each week. Sounds great, doesn’t work. I continued for six weeks, and I got to 30 minutes. In the meantime, I saw no benefit. Thirty minutes more was not enough to convince me.

Another piece of advice I tested was going to sleep earlier. It was even worse. I couldn’t fall asleep because I was still getting up late. And when I went to bed and couldn’t fall asleep, I rested while lying, so it was progressively…

--

--

Ryszard Śpiewak

Discovering how to get what I want, sharing only the advice I'm using | Alcoholic & nihilist → Dev → Writer & Team Leader | https://catchyour.life/join/